It may be the largest inductee class since 1984, but this year's roster for the U.S. Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame is no less outstanding.

Utah's Chris Waddell is one of the first adaptive skiers to enter the Hall of Fame since the late Diana Golden was honored in 1997. Paralyzed from the waist down after a skiing accident in 1988, Waddell took up adaptive skiing and won 12 medals in four Paralympic Games.

The [R314R, Park City] resident has been a charismatic promoter for adaptive skiing and was a prominent ambassador for the Salt Lake City Games in 2002 where he won three more medals. He was also one of only a handful of athletes to crossover to summer sports at the top level, competing in three Paralympic Summer Games, winning a silver in the 200-meter wheelchair race in Sydney.

Waddell has used his charisma to advocate for adaptive sports his entire career; finding his way into national publications from Skiing to People Magazine, which named him one of the "50 Most Beautiful People in the World."

This September 2009 he became the first paraplegic to climb Africa's Mount Kilimanjaro as part of his One-Revolution project.

Waddell is one of eight skiers who will be inducted into the Class of 2009 at Beaver Creek, Colo.,  April 9, 2010.  They also will be honored in September by ceremonies in Ishpeming Mich., the home of the U.S. Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame. 

Nominations for Honored Membership in the U.S. Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame are received throughout the year from across the country, and reviewed by a Selection Committee that puts the names on a ballot for voting by a panel of 100 electors. This year's class brings the number of Honored Members to 368.

More Information.